I have a extreme love for Extra Virgin Olive Oil. It has a great flavor and it adds a lot to anything that it is cooked with, especially meat and salads. So, when Kraft came out with their Reduced Fat Mayo with Olive Oil I wanted to give it a try. While I was glad to see it was Reduced Fat and not Low Fat (because I don’t think that even EVOO could save low fat mayo), I wanted to look up some nutritional information first. Olive Oil is much better for you, but what did that really mean for mayo?

One serving is 1 tablespoon, which provides 45 calories, 4 grams of fat, 2 grams of total carbohydrates and 95 mg of sodium. Regular Kraft mayonnaise has 100 calories and 11 grams of total fat, 1.5 grams of which are saturated. So far, it is looking good. The real question came when I bought a bottle and tried it. I was expecting more of an olive oil taste, but all and all I really liked it. It tasted a lot better than real mayo tastes and provides that healthy alternative for those of us that don’t really like mustard on our sandwiches. I think it is definitely worth a try!

Disclaimer: The writer of this post only eats mayo in tuna fish sandwiches. However, it was still amazing and tasted GREAT!

Speaking of tuna, it is by far my favorite sandwich of all time. Although, I am very very picky about my tuna fish, it has to be JUST so. Everyone in my family is the same way and we all have our own variations of tuna fish sandwiches. For mine, I take one can of StarKist ChunkLight Tuna in Water. I prefer the taste of this brand over any other brand. I also prefer it in water, not oil. The consistency of tuna in oil is just gross. (PS. I apologize for the sideways nature of this photo. It is straight on my camera and in the original computer file. However, no matter how many times I re-upload it, it turns it sideways. I don’t know how to fix it).

Use a can opener to open the can. Make sure it opens all the way and no little pieces are left still attached to the can, but don’t take it out just yet! Use the lid to press all the water out of the tuna can. This will probably take several tries.

After you have gotten as much water out as you can, you can take the lid out and throw it away, but make sure not to cut yourself! Blood is NOT a very good secret ingredient. Then use a fork to empty the tuna into a tupperware dish or anything else that you can mix it in and then store the leftovers.

I use a fork to get it out of the container because once it has been smashed and drained, it kind of turns into one big piece of tuna. The fork separates it into little pieces that are perfect for a sandwich!

Now it is time to start adding the good stuff! First, add 2 tbsp of mayo. In this case, I used the new olive oil mayo, of course!

According to Sparkpeople, you have have 2 tbsp for every half a can of tuna in order to make a balanced meal, however, I don’t like mayo so I only use 2 tbsp for the whole can. I usually eat yogurt with my lunch anyway, so that makes up the extra dairy I am losing by not adding all 4 tbsp. It also helps me to justify adding this next part! 1 tbsp of Mt. Olive’s Sweet Relish.

It is my favorite brand of relish and I love the flavor it adds to the tuna and mayo. Then you just mix it all together and BAM! Deliciousness.

This will make two sandwiches so just store the left overs in the refrigerator. After about a week, it gets pretty gross, so make sure to eat it before then! I enjoy my sandwiches with about a handfull of Sun Chips, Greek Yogurt and about 6 baby carrots.