Today’s health and beauty segment is brought to you by my weekend of carb overload, followed by sickness and a massive migraine headache.

 

It is lady time and during lady time I always want to eat everything in sight, the worse for me it is, the better. I spent from Thursday of last week, until Saturday night eating loaded baked potatoes, mashed potatoes (with a little bit of chicken) and gravy, rolls, Sonic and lots and lots of Chinese food. Oh, and we can’t forget the ice cream and the ice cream sandwiches. Not really a problem for most people, just a little bit of guilt and then they move on, but for me it was worse.

 

I have been eating so much healthier lately, that introducing this many carbs (which turn to sugar when they break down in your body), sugar and greasy fatness into my body was making me feel rather sluggish. For a girl who is insulin resistant, you can imagine the war it was playing with my pancreas as well. Normally, I drink about 10-12 cups of water a day, however, I had not really been doing that last week either, so when I got thirsty, instead of grabbing my normal bottle of water, I got a Lipton Green Tea with Citrus. Sounds kind of healthy, right? Wrong. It has 21 grams of sugar per serving! That is more than Dr. Pepper! I did not read this before I drank half of the bottle. With the other sugars and carbs in my system, that half a bottle of green tea was my undoing. I crashed, hard, and got very nauseous. I almost threw up behind one of the nurseries buildings here in town and I got very flushed. (Another side effect of me not drinking any water, my hair and skin are so dry! It is breaking like mad today!)

 

Since that moment, I have been back on my regularly scheduled eating habits, but I haven’t fully recovered. I am still nursing a huge migraine that I have not been able to kick for two and a half days now. When your body gets used to certain things, like eating healthy and consuming a lot of water and those things are suddenly taken away or replaced with crap your body reacts just as drastically. Before this weekend, I hadn’t noticed how much better I felt and how healthy my skin and hair was becoming. Now, all I want is to go back to feeling good again. How I ever functioned in my life feeling this way before is beyond me.

 

This was definitely a reminder for me on why I chose to change my lifestyle and why it is important to maintain that change!