I have spent so much time in the last three years in front of my computer writing papers and studying that I haven’t made it outdoors very much. Now that school is over and I have more time to go out and enjoy the outdoors, I am really trying to find activities that allow me to do that. My new obsession is gardening. I know I showed you guys’ pictures of my vegetable garden, but this weekend I did a different kind of gardening. I planted flowers!

 

This morning we planted the flowers into our front flowerbeds with our regularly scheduled perennials. See, we keep all the bigger stuff the same; the same trees and bushes. Then, every year, we go out and find different annuals to put along the border and in the hanging flower baskets, just to spice it up. So, yesterday, my mom and I spent the day at various flower nurseries around town picking the perfect flowers to add to the front flowerbeds. We ended up with petunias, dahlias, moss roses, bleeding hearts, a columbine, snapdragons, a calibrachoa, darla whites, lobelias and dianthus’. (There were two others but I can’t find the tags and can’t think of their names).

 

 

 

 

 

I know, it is kind of hard to see some of the new flowers just yet. They are still so small!, but It is going to look great once all the rose bushes bloom and the flowers start to grow!

My work is not over just yet though, as I type this, my dad is cutting out some wooden timbers we are going to use to create a raised bed for the strawberries here in the back vegetable garden! Speaking of the vegetable garden, it is coming along nicely, despite two hard freezes between now and two weeks ago. Gotta love Oklahoma weather!

 

 

It is almost time to start planing tomatos, cucumbers, corn, green peppers and the herbs! Look at all the pretty little starts just waiting for their turn!